Printer-friendly versionSend to friendPDF version

Timmermans, Itterbeek

Timmermans is the oldest and one of the larger lambic breweries and has long been known as a supplier of lambic to other breweries and blenderies, which used wort from Timmermans to make their own gueuze and kriek.

Today, the Timmermans fruit beers and traditional beers are an essential part of the Martin's Finest Beer Selection®, which has also won numerous awards around the world. Timmermans retains its authenticity and craftsmanship while benefiting from the unique expertise of Anthony "Martin's Finest Beer Selection®", to which the brewery belongs since 1993.

In September 2009, Timmermans Brewery opened its museum and offers visitors the chance to learn about one of the most unique Belgian brewing traditions. There is also an exhibition on 100 years of "Martin's Finest Drinks Company®" history.


Kerkstraat 11
Tel. 02 569 03 57
Fax 02 569 01 98
timmermans [at] johnmartin [dot] be

Productie 15.000 hl (2006)

Verhouding export - binnenland 40 % - 60 %

Tewerkstelling 18

Thuisverkoop maandag tot vrijdag van 9 - 12 uur

Bezoeken op aanvraag

Tonmerk ja

Timmermans Brewery was founded in 1702.

From 1781 until the first quarter of the 19th century, Henry Vanheyleweghen was the brewer. Around 1814, he rented the buildings to Jacobus Walraevens who brewed 15 hectolitres.

Jacobus Walraevens then moved to Itterbeek to run a farm and a brewery. His oldest son Charles succeeded him and in 1832 named the brewery "Brewery de Mol". This is also the origin of the "little mole" that is depicted on the wooden casks and barrels today.

In 1834, the production had already increased to 700 hectolitres. From the ratio of wheat to barley malt used at that time, it could be deduced that lambic was being brewed. In 1887, son Paul Walraevens took over the business, which in the meantime had expanded to include a malting plant, a fruit farm and a café.

When Celina, the youngest daughter of Paul Walraevens, married the brewer's son Frans Timmermans from Zuun in 1911, a major restructuring took place. The farm and the fruit farm were discontinued and everything was focused on the brewery and the pub. The malt house continued to exist until the 1960s.

For several years, the municipality of Itterbeek was run from the brewery house. Frans Timmermans became mayor, but made it a condition that he did not have to commute to the town hall. His wish was granted and for many years, the constable and the town clerk came to the brewery every day at noon to go through the files over a gueuze or kriek. The mayor only made an exception for the municipal council.

Paul Van Cutsem, the farmer's son, married Frans' only daughter, Germaine, in 1934. When his father-in-law died, he renamed the brewery "Timmermans". His sons Raoul and Jacques Van Cutsem continued the brewing tradition and became brewery managers.